Home / E GIST / 2023: We have no defection plans – PDP governors reply APC

2023: We have no defection plans – PDP governors reply APC

The Peoples Democratic Get together, PDP, Governors’ Discussion board on Thursday dominated out the defection of any of its members to the All Progressives Congress, APC.

There was defection hearsay linking the PDP governors, with the APC management developing at a number of factors to assert that many PDP governors have been on their technique to the social gathering.

DAILY POST studies that ever since Governor David Umahi of Ebonyi State left the PDP, the ruling social gathering had continued to boast that one or two extra PDP governors from the South-East would quickly be a part of its fold. Different governors, Bala Muhammed of Bauchi have additionally been named severally.

However the governors, throughout a gathering on the Sokoto State Governor’s Lodge, Asokoro in Abuja, stated none of them was considering such a transfer.

With about two years to the 2023 basic elections, the PDP has continued to strategize with the hope of retaking energy from the APC. The social gathering dominated Nigeria for 16 uninterrupted years, however surprisingly misplaced to President Muhammadu Buhari of the APC in 2015.

The defection of some PDP governors and bigwigs to the then newly shaped APC was largely one of many causes for the APC victory.

With its reconciliation committee led by former Senate President, Bukola Saraki, the PDP is now working day and evening to return to energy.

Crystal Palace vs Man Utd: Rashford, Maguire clash, call each other out during 0-0 draw
🎴Also Read ▶️

Additionally on the Thursday assembly, the governors resolved to assist President Muhammadu Buhari-led Federal Authorities within the struggle towards insecurity.

The discussion board additionally urged the Federal Authorities to interact related stakeholders within the struggle towards insecurity.

A communiqué after the assembly was signed by the Chairman of the discussion board and Governor of Sokoto State, Aminu Tambuwal.

The communiqué reads: “The assembly additional resolved to proceed to collaborate with the Federal Authorities to struggle the scourge of insecurity bedeviling the nation and urged the Authorities to take needed steps to interact all main stakeholders.

“States that bear the main brunt of the safety challenges needs to be supported extra by the Federal Authorities to safe the nation.

“The Discussion board reviewed the financial scenario within the nation and famous the latest enhance in crude oil costs. It urged the Federal Authorities to make use of this chance to additional diversify the financial system and supply the enabling atmosphere for Nigerians to thrive in all sectors.

“The assembly additionally famous that no member of the PDP Governors’ Discussion board is considering leaving the social gathering. Nigerians ought to ignore hearsay mongers and mischief makers attempting to sow seeds of disunity within the social gathering. The social gathering is one and there’s no division in its ranks. The PDP Governors are concentrating on delivering democracy advantages to Nigerian individuals who elected them in numerous states.

Sadiq Daba: Lai Mohammed reacts to death of popular Nollywood actor
🎴Also Read ▶️

“We now have equally arrange a peer evaluate mechanism to watch and benchmark the laudable achievements of PDP Governors of their numerous states. Initiatives and providers related to the lives, livelihoods and wellbeing of our persons are our main pre-occupation presently.”

The assembly was attended by the next, Rt. Hon. Aminu Waziri Tambuwal – Chairman; Okezie Ikpeazu (Abia State) – Vice Chairman; Nyesom Wike (Rivers State) – Member; Ifeanyi Okowa (Delta State) – Member; Seyi Makinde (Oyo State)- Member.

Others are: Godwin Obaseki (Edo State) – Member; Sen. Bala Mohammed (Bauchi State) – Member; Hon. Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (Enugu State) – Member; Sen. Duoye Diri (Bayelsa State) – Member; Sen. (Prof) Engr. Ayade Benedict (Cross Rivers State) – Member; Gov. Samuel Ioraer Ortom (Benue State) – Member; Gov. Bello Mattawale Maradun (Zamfara State) – Member; Crowther Seth (Deputy Governor-Adamawa) – Member.

Additionally in attendance was PDP’s Nationwide Working Committee (NWC) which acquired an interim Report of the social gathering’s Reconciliation Committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *