The English Premier League has issued a press release to clarify the choice to not award Manchester United a penalty in Sunday’s conflict towards Chelsea on the Stamford Bridge.
Within the first half of the conflict between Chelsea and Man United, Marcus Rashford’s free-kick was blocked by Edouard Mendy, and the ball appeared to strike the arm of Callum Hudson-Odoi on quite a lot of events.
Whereas the ball additionally appeared to hit the arm of Man United striker, Mason Greenwood, which occurred after the contact from Hudson-Odoi.
Referee Stuart Atwell was referred to as over to observe the incident on the pitch-side monitor following a VAR evaluate, however he determined to not award a penalty.
Nevertheless, the Premier League has now issued a press release on the matter, which learn: “The VAR requested the referee to take a look at the incident once more, however he caught to his on-field resolution as he felt that Hudson-Odoi didn’t transfer his hand in direction of the ball.”
The draw means Chelsea are nonetheless within the fifth place on the log, whereas Man United are within the second place with 12 factors behind leaders Manchester Metropolis.
In the meantime, a former Premier League referee, Mark Clattenburg, has mentioned that he was baffled as to how referee Stuart Attwell didn’t award Manchester United a penalty towards Chelsea.
He mentioned, “I’m amazed Manchester United weren’t awarded a penalty within the first half for the clear handball by Callum Hudson-Odoi.
“How Attwell didn’t then level to the spot, having been proven the identical angles that we have been, is a thriller.”